Faculty and staff accomplishments (as of February 28)

Accomplishment kudos

Suhail Akhtar, PhD, assistant professor, biochemistry, ATSU-KCOM, had his abstract selected for presentation as a "Poster of Distinction" and was rated in the top 10% of all American Gastroenterological Association abstracts selected for Digestive Disease Week, the world's premier meeting for physicians and researchers working in the field of gastroenterology.

Rex Banks, AuD, adjunct assistant professor, post-professional audiology, ATSU-ASHS, received the Moneca Price Humanitarian Award from the Canadian Academy of Audiology in recognition of his extraordinary humanitarian and community service.

Hong Chartrand, DPH, MPA, director, Area Health Education Center Program Office, ATSU-KCOM, was recognized as an exceptional reviewer for *Preventing Chronic Disease* journal for 2021.

Joan Davis, PhD, assistant dean for research and professor, ATSU-MOSDOH, wrote the section on marijuana and oral health of the National Institutes of Health/National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research 2021 Oral Health in America Report, Section 5: Pain, Mental Illness, Substance Use, and Oral Health, Chapter 1: Status of Knowledge, Practice, and Perspectives.

Michelle DiBaise, DHSc, PA-C, DFAAPA, professor and chair, physician assistant studies, ATSU-ASHS, was elected to serve on the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants Health Foundation Board of Directors. Her three-year term began Jan. 1.

Desiree Dugger, admissions coordinator, residential admissions, ATSU, received the Arizona campus Employee Excellence Award for the fourth quarter of 2021.

Pamela Kays, PT, DPT, EdD, assistant professor and director of curriculum, physical therapy, ATSU-ASHS, received the 2021 ATSU Innovation in Teaching for Learning Award.

Richard LaBaere II, DO, MPH, FAODME, adjunct clinical professor and associate dean for graduate medical education, ATSU-KCOM, was elected to serve as chair of the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners for a two-year term. Additionally, he is a renewed National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators fellow within the Educational Leadership category. His term is effective through April 2027.

Kenneth Lam, ScD, ATC, professor of clinical research, interdisciplinary health sciences, ATSU-ASHS, was named a fellow of National Athletic Trainers' Association for demonstrating outstanding professional scholarly achievement and service to the profession.

Robert Long, curriculum technician, medical education, ATSU-KCOM, received the Missouri campus Employee Excellence Award for the fourth quarter of 2021.

Dwight McLeod, DDS, MS, dean and professor, ATSU-MOSDOH, was selected as a recipient of the St. Louis American Foundation Excellence in Health Care Award.

Mary-Katherine McNatt, DrPH, MPH, MCHES, CPH, COI, associate professor and chair, public health, ATSU-CGHS, was appointed as a new Council on Education for Public Health councilor by the Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health Executive Committee. Her term began Jan. 1 and will end Dec. 31, 2025.

Patrick Palmieri, DHSc, EdS, MBA, MSN, ACNP, RN, adjunct professor, health sciences, ATSU-CGHS, was accepted to the 2022 cohort of the Environmental Health Research Institute for Nurse and Clinician Scientists.

Kim Perry, DDS, MSCS, FACD, associate vice president of strategic university partnerships and associate professor, ATSU, contributed to the National Institutes of Health/National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research 2021 Oral Health in America Report, Section 5: Pain, Mental Illness, Substance Use, and Oral Health. Hal Bright, MLS, AHIP, university library director, A.T. Still Memorial Library assisted Dr. Perry with her literature review.

Karen Snider, DO, C-NMM/OMM, assistant dean for osteopathic principles and practice integration and professor, medical education, ATSU-KCOM, is a renewed National Academy of Osteopathic Medical Educators fellow within the Educational Leadership category. Her term is effective through April 2027.