Faculty and staff accomplishments (as of Feb. 28)

Accomplishment kudos

Tina Bannochie, credentialing specialist, clinical education, ATSU-SOMA, received the Arizona campus Employee Excellence Award for the fourth quarter of 2020.

Scott Howell, DMD, MPH, FSCD, '14, assistant professor, director of public health dentistry & teledentistry, ATSU-ASDOH, was named as one of the Top 40 Most Influential Leaders in Teledentistry. The American Mobile & Teledentistry Alliance recognized 40 influential leaders who have used innovation and been forward-thinking with their efforts to keep oral health a priority, even when in-person office visits were not possible.

Dr. Howell also received the 2020 Teledentistry Innovation Award in the dentist/specialist category for developing a robust oral health program and training over 300 students in teledentistry. Nicknamed the "Tellies," the awards were created by MouthWatch to highlight dental professionals and organizations bringing telehealth to dental care and the positive impacts they make.

Eric Matthews, PhD, MS, associate professor, health sciences, ATSU-CGHS, was reappointed to another four-year term as a peer reviewer for the Higher Learning Commission.

Mary-Katherine McNatt, DrPH, MPH, MCHES, CPH, COI, chair and associate professor, public health, ATSU-CGHS, has been invited to sit on the CommuniVax Coalition by Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security and the National Rural Health Association. She also has been asked to serve on the Texas Pandemic Vaccine Task Force, a selection of subject matter experts who are convening through Immunization Partnerships to provide guidance and recommendations to the Texas governor, Legislature, and Executive Committee on COVID-19 vaccine distribution for the state.

Tim Ostrowski, PhD, assistant professor, physiology, ATSU-KCOM, received a \$387,403 grant award from the National Institutes of Health National Institute on Aging for his study titled "Respiratory dysfunction in Alzheimer's disease and its link to oxidative damage within the brainstem."

Patrick Palmieri, DHSc, EdS, MBA, MSN, ACNP, RN, adjunct professor, health sciences, ATSU-CGHS, was appointed to the editorial board for *Global Qualitative Nursing Research*.

Jae Hyun Park, DMD, PhD, MSD, MS, professor and chair, postgraduate orthodontics, ATSU-ASDOH, was appointed deputy editor of the *American Journal of Orthodontics*

and Dentofacial Orthopedics Clinical Companion, an international journal dedicated to excellence in clinical orthodontics.

Cassie Reynolds, administrative assistant, physical therapy, ATSU-ASHS, received the annual ATSU-ASHS Exemplary Staff Award.

Sue Roe, DPA, MS, chair and associate professor, nursing, ATSU-CGHS, was appointed to the American Holistic Nurses Association Education Approver Committee for a two-year term. This committee provides peer-review based on national standards of Individual Activity Applications for nursing continuing education.

Marlene Salas-Provance, PhD, MHA, MA, CCC-SLP, FASHA, vice dean, ATSU-ASHS, was selected as a distinguished fellow of the National Academies of Practice, an interprofessional group of healthcare practitioners and scholars dedicated to collaborative healthcare practices and excellence in interprofessional care.

Hanann Tomeh, DDS, assistant professor, comprehensive care unit director, ATSU-ASDOH, earned a master of public health degree from ATSU-CGHS in December.

Brenda Williams, project coordinator, academic affairs, ATSU-KCOM, received the Missouri campus Employee Excellence Award for the fourth quarter of 2020.

Congratulations to those who received internal grant funding for cultural proficiency and post-COVID-19 scholarly strategies.

Health Professions Education for the Future: Teaching and Learning in the Age of COVID-19

- Mary-Katherine McNatt, DrPH, MPH, MCHES, CPH, COI, chair and associate professor, ATSU-CGHS; M. Lindsay Wright, DMD, MPH, assistant professor, ATSU-CGHS; and Susan Thomas, MSEd, instructional designer, ATSU-CGHS, for "Epidemiology and Interactive Outbreak Simulation Curriculum Pilot."
- John Olson, PhD, professor, ATSU-SOMA; Mark Coty, PhD, assistant dean, ATSU-SOMA; Earla White, PhD, MEd, chair and associate professor, ATSU-SOMA; and Deborah Heath, DO, professor, ATSU-SOMA, for "Enhancing Student Knowledge Retrieval Through a University-Wide Customizable Platform that Leverages Self-Directed and Longitudinal Competency Assessments."
- Hanan Omar, BDS, PhD, MSc, associate professor, ATSU-MOSDOH; Ammar Musawi, MDS, BDS, director and assistant professor, ATSU-MOSDOH; Graziela Batista, DDS, PhD, assistant professor, ATSU-MOSDOH; and Lisa Archer, BSN, RN, director of simulation & performance assessment, ATSU-KCOM, for

- "Development of a Dental Interactive Case-based Learning Model (DICBLM) for D2 Students."
- Cailee Welch Bacon, PhD, ATC, associate professor, ATSU-ASHS; Barton Anderson, DHSc, MS, ATC, '03, professor, ATSU-ASHS; and Kenneth Lam, ScD, ATC, professor, ATSU-ASHS, for "Development of an Academic Electronic Medical Record to Cultivate Students' Patient Care Documentation Practices and Use of Health Information Technology."
- Amy Wing, MMS, PA-C, assistant professor, ATSU-ASHS; Kimberly DeVore, MS, PA-C, director and assistant professor, ATSU-ASHS; Ami Mikhail, MS, PA-C, assistant professor, ATSU-ASHS; and Tess Coon, MS, PA-C, assistant professor, ATSU-ASHS, for "Comparison of End of Rotation (EOR) Exam Performance for Clinical Year Physician Assistant Students Enrolled in Traditional Versus Hybrid Model Learning Curriculum Due to Covid-19 Pandemic."
- Bonnie Wong, DO, '12, assistant professor, ATSU-SOMA, and Tala Dajani, MD, MPH, assistant professor, ATSU-SOMA, for "Virtual Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine Rotation (VOMMR)."

Development of Standardized Patient Cases/Scenarios Focused on Cultural Proficiency

- Monica Nenad, DHEd, MEd, RDH, CHES, '15, director and assistant professor, ATSU-ASDOH; Scott Howell, DMD, MPH, FSCD, '14, director and assistant professor, ATSU-ASDOH; and Krina Patel, D1, ATSU-ASDOH, for "Assessment of LGBTQ Knowledge and Attitudes Among Health Care Student Clinicians: A Pilot Study."
- Lorree Ratto, PhD, FT, chair and associate professor, ATSU-SOMA; Lisa McNeil, manager, standardized patient simulation center, ATSU-SOMA;
 Carolina Quezada, MD, regional director of medical education, ATSU-SOMA;
 Norma Villanueva, MD, MPH, regional director of medical education, ATSU-SOMA;
 Grace Stewart, MD, assistant professor, ATSU-SOMA; Shar Dedmari, OMS II, ATSU-SOMA; Adan Garcia-Mecinas, OMS II, ATSU-SOMA; and Yesenia Salazar, OMS II, ATSU-SOMA, for "Culturally Proficient Standardized Patients Cases."